N.C. A&T Advisory Board represents School of Agriculture

"Twenty experts representing agricultural industries and organizations, government agencies, and financial and educational systems recently joined the advisory board to the School of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences at North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University. The group’s core duties are to advise school leadership on the most effective strategies for achieving excellence in the SAES’s food, agricultural, family and environmental sciences through instruction, research and Cooperative Extension programs, in accordance with the university’s Preeminence 2020 strategic plan.
Advisory Board members will help the SAES enhance and expand its partnerships and provide greater outreach to core audiences, says Dr. Shirley Hymon-Parker, the SAES interim dean who recommissioned the panel.
“Whether it be through enterprise, employment or funding, having such engaged industry- and service-leadership representatives with us means opportunity,” Hymon-Parker says. “The Advisory Board provides the School of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences with extra advice and resources to achieve our mission.”
Meeting for its inaugural session Nov. 20 on campus, the Board elected Justin Gayliard of Chapel Hill, BASF Corporation manager for the Demand Group, as chairman; DeShon Cromartie of Graham, N.C. Farm Bureau Federation team leader for the Young Farmers & Ranchers Committee, as chairman-elect, and Ra’Tasha Rouse of Erwin, an SAES graduate-student representative, as secretary.
Other Advisory Board members are:

  1. Mike Atkinson of Durham, senior vice president and manager of community development for First Citizens Bank in Raleigh.
  2. Denver Caldwell of Cary, John Deere marketing manager and marketing support, Agriculture and Turf Division, Cary.
  3. Dr. Lisa Chapman of Sanford, senior vice president and chief academic officer, North Carolina Community College System, Raleigh.
  4. Elworth Cheek of Ramseur, chairman of the Strategic Planning Council advisory board to The Cooperative Extension Program at A&T.
  5. Susan Perry Cole of Rocky Mount, president and chief executive officer of the N.C. Association of Community Development Corporations, Raleigh.
  6. Vance C. Dalton Jr. of Maiden, chief executive officer, Carolina Farm Credit, Statesville.
  7. Dr. Darlene Dixon of Durham, a veterinarian with the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences’ National Toxicology Program of the Molecular Pathogenesis Group, Research Triangle Park.
  8. James Eure of Ahoskie, senior vice president with the Ahoskie branch of the State Employees’ Credit Union.
  9. Jimmy W. Gentry of Statesville, president of the North Carolina State Grange, Statesville.
  10. Edward L. Gregory Jr. of Henderson, risk management specialist with the United States Department of Agriculture’s Risk Management Agency, Raleigh.
  11. Trequan McGee of Enfield, SAES undergraduate student representative.
  12. Roland McReynolds of Pittsboro, executive director of the Carolina Farm Stewardship Association, Pittsboro.
  13. Dr. Carroll Moseley of High Point, senior environmental stewardship and policy manager, Syngenta Crop Protection, Greensboro.
  14. Erica Peterson of Cary, executive vice president of the N.C. Agribusiness Council, Cary.
  15. Dr. Richard C. Reich of Winston-Salem, assistant commissioner for Agriculture Services, N.C. Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Raleigh.
  16. George C. Scott of Greensboro, president and CEO of fashion retailer Fabali World and chair of the Advisory Board to the SAES Department of Family and Consumer Sciences.
  17. Larry B. Wooten of Raleigh, president of the North Carolina Farm Bureau, Raleigh."
- A Press Release

No comments: