May 28, 2020 - Atlanta, GA - Six-piece alternative rock band Young Mountain is excited to announce the release of their debut EP, If You Leave due out July 17th. To celebrate the announcement, the band has shared a new music video for first single "James Albert" premiering now with Substream Magazine. Fans can check out the video now at:

"James Albert" may be the most personal from the upcoming EP. Released on the anniversary of his passing, the song was written in memory of guitarist Jason Mays' late father. "One of the goals I have for this band is to have as many as my friends involved with this band as possible," Mays shares with Substream. "I'm still not entirely over the death of my father, but I'm so happy that a bunch of my friends could help me use this as an outlet to honor the memory of my dad, I just hope people can hear how much heart we put into this and I hope this makes my dad proud."

Originally created as a solo outlet for Mays to release material memorializing his late father, he quickly realized the project was much more than that. Recently Mays stated, "Young Mountain was such an important project to me right from the start. After my father passed away, I grieved the only way I knew how - through writing music. Before I knew it, I was sitting on a pile of material that I, not only, was proud of, but saw incredible potential to expand upon. When life puts a mountain in front of you, you can either let it stop you in your tracks, or you can climb it."

Deciding to delve full force into the project, Mays sourced musicians from prior internationally accredited acts that all shared the same vision. A full lineup consisting of Mays alongside vocalist Hance Alligood (Woe, Is Me, Favorite Weapon), drummer Chris Lent (From First To Last, I Set My Friends On Fire), bassist/keyboard player Michael Matejick (Of Machines, Native Suns), vocalist Matt Mulkey, and guitarist Jake Russell was formed. The band orchestrated their first single, "James Albert" - named in memory of Mays' late father. It was reviewed as emotive and sincere. Soon after, the band completed their debut EP titled, "If You Leave," with bassist/engineer, Michael Matejick at Burnt Toast Studios. - scheduled to be released July 17th.

If You Leave Track Listing
2.     Irma (Grain of Salt)
3.     James Albert
4.     If You Leave

No comments: