BREAKING: Mayor-elect says resolution to seating dispute is reached

Greensboro Mayor-elect Robbie Perkins called to say a resolution has been reached to what he called "seating-gate," a dispute between himself and District 5 City Councilwoman Trudy Wade.

The new council is scheduled to be sworn in tonight.

Perkins said all sitting council members except District 1 Councilwoman Dianne Bellamy-Small will be moved.

Starting from the left end of the dais from the viewpoint of the audience, the sequence will be Bellamy-Small, at-large Councilwoman Marikay Abuzuaiter, Wade, District 3 Councilman Zack Matheny, Perkins, Mayor Pro Tem Yvonne Johnson, at-large Councilman Nancy Vaughan, District 2 Councilman Jim Kee and District 4 Councilwoman Nancy Hoffmann.

Perkins said the arrangement was reached after Matheny "did a little shuttle diplomacy between me and Trudy."

The mayor-elect said he has talked with Wade, and they have agreed to discuss a new policy for governing seating and appointments to boards and commissions for future transitions.

No comments: