Primary results and general election primer

The 2012 primary election is over.

The marriage amendment has passed across the state of North Carolina and in Forsyth and Guilford counties. While it passed by a wide margin statewide, it split the two urban counties of the Triad, with Greensboro and Winston-Salem leaning against, while rural and suburban areas polled in favor of it. Guilford County split nearly 50-50.

Republican Congressman Howard Coble and Democratic Congressman Mel Watt fended off challengers in their respective districts. Winston-Salem/Forsyth County School Board member Elisabeth Motsinger won the Democratic primary to challenge Republican Congresswoman Virginia Foxx in the November general election.

Democrats chose Lt. Gov. Walter Dalton as their nominee for governor, and — no surprise — Republicans selected former Charlotte Mayor Pat McCrory.  

NC Rep. Earline Parmon won the Democratic primary for the open NC Senate District 32 seat representing Winston-Salem. Greensboro City Councilwoman Trudy Wade won the Republican primary for the newly created Senate District 27. Gladys Robinson fended off a challenge from Guilford County Commissioner Bruce Davis in Senate District 28. 

Jon Hardister secured the Republican nomination for the new NC House District 59 in Guilford County. Marcus Brandon handily defeated Earl Jones in District 60 in Greensboro and High Point. 

In Forsyth County, Ed Hanes Jr. and Evelyn Terry picked up the Democratic nomination for open NC House seats. Forsyth County Commissioner Debra Conrad won the Republican nomination for NC House District 74, forcing the retirement of NC Rep. Larry Brown, infamous for derogatory comments about “queers” and “fruit loops.” 

Three Republican incumbents on the Forsyth County Commission will hold their seats, unless a lone Democrat manages to unseat one of them in November. 

In Guilford County, Jeremy R. Williams and Hank Henning were forced into a runoff for the newly created, Republican-leaning Guilford County Commission District 6. Jeff Phillips won the Republican nomination for commission District 5, propelling him into a general election contest with longtime Democratic commissioner Paul Gibson. Republican Jerry Alan Branson won his primary in District 4, setting him up to challenge Democratic incumbent Kirk Perkins in November. 

Sandra Alexander survived her primary for the at-large seat on Guilford County School Board, along with challenger Pat Tillman. Challenger Linda Welborn led balloting in District 5 while incumbent Paul Daniels secured the second-place slot. The two candidates in each race will face off in the November general election. 

Absorb the impact of yesterday’s results, and get familiar with the candidates who will appear on the Nov. 6 general election. 

You can find it here (link) at our YES! Weekly’s excellent, albeit incomplete, online election guide, Triad Elections ’12.

No comments: