Sports Hall of Fame announces new inductees

"Six of the seven 2014 North Carolina A&T Sports Hall of Fame inductees won at least one MEAC championship during their collegiate careers. The North Carolina A&T Sports Hall of Fame announced its new members on Thursday with five football players, one track and field athlete and one men’s basketball player earning the prestigious honor.

Football’s James Bowden, Darryl Klugh, Connell Maynor, Troy Pelshak, Barry Turner, track and field’s Shenan Robinson and men’s basketball James Sparrow will be announced as the new members on Thursday, Sept. 4 at the North Carolina A&T University Alumni-Foundation Event Center at 7 p.m. The media is invited to a press luncheon for the inductees at the event center at noon on Sept. 4. The honorees will also be recognized on Sept. 6 when the Aggies play their home opener against No. 7 Coastal Carolina at 6 p.m., at Aggie Stadium.

“On behalf of North Carolina A&T State University and the department of athletics, I want to congratulate the 2014 inductees,” said Earl M. Hilton III, A&T’s director of athletics. “We appreciate their commitment to their sport, university and community. Their individual accomplishments translated into team success, and that is the true sign of a Hall of Famer.”

Bowden played wide receiver for A&T from 1991-95. He made 94 receptions for 1,694 yards and nine touchdowns. He helped the Aggies win the 1992 MEAC championship and earn a playoff berth in the NCAA Division I-AA playoffs.

Darryl Klugh is considered one of the best defensive backs in school history. He secured three different All-American honors during his career, including Division I-AA All-American accolades. In 1999 he led the MEAC in interceptions and was a first-team All-MEAC selection. The Aggies 1999 team also broke the school record for wins (11), won the MEAC championship and won the school’s first ever NCAA football playoff game. His younger brother Hasaan is a quarterback on the 2014 Aggies football team.

Maynor has continued to have success in football more than 20 years after his collegiate career ended. He led the Winston-Salem State Rams to the Division II national championship game in 2012, and he is the current head coach at Hampton University. Before his coaching career, Maynor established as one of the best all-around offensive players in school history.

Maynor won MEAC Offensive Player of the Year twice (1990 and ’91), becoming the first Aggie to win the award. He threw 18 touchdown passes and only five interceptions in 1991 as he led the Aggies to the MEAC title.
Pelshak was one of the most feared defensive players in the MEAC. He could play defensive end, defensive tackle and nose tackle. He made 52 tackles for loss in his career, including seven in one game.

Robinson was an outstanding athlete on the track. He competed in the 55 meters, 100, 400 meter relay, long jump and triple jump. He helped the Aggies win three consecutive outdoor MEAC championships (1994-96) and one indoor championship in 1996. He was named All-MEAC in the 55, 100 and long jump.

Many Aggie fans would argue that James Sparrow is the best men’s basketball player in school history. He led the team in scoring three straight seasons and during the 1975-76 season he led the team in scoring, assists and steals. He led the Aggies to three MEAC titles (1975, ‘76 and ‘78), and was the MEAC Player of the Year in ‘75 and ‘76. He has the best scoring average in school history at 18.8 points per game.

Turner’s 2,726 rushing yards is fourth all-time on the Aggies rushing list. He also made 92 receptions for 1,148 yards and nine touchdowns. He helped the Aggies win back-to-back MEAC titles in 1991 and ‘92.  He is one of only three players in school history with more than 4,000 all-purpose yards."

- A Press Release

No comments: