ESR Awards Community Leadership with Legacy Awards

"Winston-Salem-Experiment in Self-Reliance is celebrating 50 years of service to the community during 2014. In celebration of the occasion, ESR presented four Legacy Awards in honor of each recipient’s support and contributions over the past 50 years.
Honoree Mr. William F. Womble served as ESR’s first board chair from 1964-1968. During his leadership, the infrastructure needed for board governance, grant submission to the state, bylaws, and program design was implemented. Mr. Womble is still supportive and active in the mission of Experiment in Self-Reliance.
Mayor Pro Tempore Dr. Vivian Burke and family of the late Logan Burke also accepted an award on behalf of Mr. Burke. Mr. Burke was a board chair with ESR from 1974-1976. Under his leadership, ESR recruited volunteer mentors, sororities, fraternities, and faith-based ministries to sponsor community houses and transportation services for the elderly. The Burke family continues to support ESR and Winston-Salem/Forsyth County in its endeavors to fight poverty and build assets in the community.
      Mrs. Lynette Wilson and family of the late Mrs. Louise G. Wilson accepted an award on behalf of Mrs. Wilson as well. Mrs. Wilson was the long- time Executive Director for ESR throughout the 1970s and 80s. She had a strong willingness to teach leadership skills and to create opportunities for neighborhoods to be in dialogue with city officials to promote policies and changes that strengthen the communities and bridge the gap for so many needing services. The Wilson family continues to support ESR’s endeavors.
Dr. James ushered a new focus for ESR during a time of federal funding changes – a shift in policies central to the Welfare Reform Movement. He helped to re-establish an Advisory Board and aided in raising funds to build ESR’s new facility. Dr. James is an avid supporter of ESR and continues to serve the community through his many roles.
Also receiving this award was Dr. Frank James who was a former chair at ESR from 2002-2004, current ad hoc board member, and ESR’s Capital Campaign Honorary Co-chair.

      Each recipient of this award has contributed to the legendary success of this organization throughout the years. Presenting the awards were Executive Director Twana W. Roebuck, Programs and Operations Director Fred Bazemore, Board Chair Larry Herzberg, and former Executive Director Robert Law.

**Robert Law and Larry Herzberg are pictured with the Wilson Family, with Fred Bazemore pictured at the end.
**Dr. James is pictured with Fred Bazemore."

- A Press Release

No comments: