ACC WLAX: ACC Student-Athletes Collect IWLCA All-America Honors

Twenty-three ACC players are among the 48 honored

"GREENSBORO, N.C. – Twenty-three ACC women’s lacrosse student-athletes garnered All-America accolades for the 2014 season, as announced Tuesday by the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA).

Twelve from the ACC were named to the 16-member All-America First Team, the most of any conference in the nation. Maryland leads all schools with four on the first team, Syracuse and North Carolina follow each with two, while Boston College, Notre Dame, Duke and Virginia have one.

Named to the IWLCA All-America First Team include: Boston College’s Mikaela Rix; Duke’s Taylor Virden; Maryland’s  Brooke Griffin, Taylor Cummings, Kelly McPartland and Megan Douty;  North Carolina’s Abbey Friend and Sloan Serpe; Notre Dame’s Margaret Smith; Syracuse’s Alyssa Murray and Kayla Treanor; and Virginia’s Liz Colgan.

Earning second team honors are: Boston College’s Covie Stanwick, Duke’s Kerrin Mauer, Maryland’s Beth Glaros, Syracuse’s Kasey Mock and Virginia’s Courtney Swan and Morgan Stephens.

Alice Mercer (Maryland), Sydney Holman (North Carolina), Aly Messinger (North Carolina), Courtney Fortunato (Notre Dame), and Liza Blue (Virginia) each collected third team honors.

The IWLCA will honor the National All-Americans at the IWLCA All-American banquet on Saturday, June 7, 2014 at the Radisson Hotel Valley Forge in King Prussia, Pa.

Thirteen of the ACC’s 23 All-Americans will be in action Friday, May 23 at Towson, Md., in the 2014 NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship National Semifinals.  Virginia and Syracuse will face each other in the first semifinal at 5 p.m., while Maryland plays Northwestern in the second semifinal slated for 7:30 p.m. Both games will air on ESPN3. The two winners will meet in the national championship game on Sunday, May 25 at 8:30 p.m.

2014 IWLCA All-America Teams
First Team 
Abbey Friend, North Carolina, Sr., Attack
Brooke Griffin, Maryland, Jr., Attack                                                          
Alyssa Murray, Syracuse, Sr., Attack
Kayla Treanor, Syracuse, So., Attack
Taylor Cummings, Maryland, So., Midfield
Kelly McPartland, Maryland, Jr., Midfield
Mikaela Rix, Boston College, Jr., Midfield
Megan Douty, Maryland, Jr., Defense
Sloane Serpe, North Carolina, Sr., Defense
Margaret Smith, Notre Dame, Sr., Defense
Taylor Virden, Duke, Sr., Defense
Liz Colgan, Virginia, Sr., Goalkeeper

Second Team
 Kerrin Maurer, Duke, Jr., Attack
Covie Stanwick, Boston College, Jr., Attack
Courtney Swan, Virginia, Jr., Attack
Beth Glaros, Maryland, Sr., Midfield
Kasey Mock, Syracuse, Sr., Defense
Morgan Stephens, Virginia, Jr., Defense               

Third Team
Liza Blue, Virginia, Sr., Attack
Cortney Fortunato, Notre Dame, Fr., Attack
Sydney Holman, North Carolina, Fr., Attack
Aly Messinger, North Carolina, So., Attack
Alice Mercer, Maryland, So., Defense"
A Press Release

No comments: